Birds of the Air

March 1, 2010, had been an exhausting day, but a serendipitous day!  That was the day I learned that God TEXTS!  Yes, He does!

Arriving home from a long day’s work, I hurried up the stairs that are attached to our deck — anticipating how good it would feel to get inside, take off my shoes, and plop down on the recliner. Pulling the keys out of my purse and unlocking the door, something stopped me before going inside.  I paused, letting warm rays of sunshine penetrate my tired bones.

I thought, “Hmmm. This feels good. Think I will sit here for awhile before going in.” Taking a seat on a wooden bench, I drew some deep breaths and began to unwind. As the sunshine poured in, I became more and more relaxed. I had no worries or concerns, so my thoughts began to wander. I thought about the sun and how it is our solar system’s largest star. I thought of the invisible planets, unobtrusively making their voyage around the brightest light while the world carried on.

Sparrows

Then my thoughts zoomed inward, closer to home. I fixed my eyes on the barren winter branches of a nearby apple tree, knowing they would soon begin to bud. Along came a feathered friend … then two. I listened carefully. They were singing a melodic tune that was pleasing to my ear! I whispered, “Oh, Lord, thank you for the birds; I surely do…” *zht*zht* “… love them!” Before the words were out of my mouth, my blissful state was “rudely” interrupted by a ringtone in my pocket. I inwardly moaned, “Not now! Whoever you are, you will have to wait.” Realizing it was only a text message, I continued to bask in the splendor of the moment, while checking quickly to make sure no one was in trouble or needed my help.

That is when it happened! I could not believe my eyes! There, in black and white, I read the following words, and I am quoting them exactly as they appeared on my phone: “Matthew 6:26 – Look at the birds of the air. They do not sow or reap or stow away…yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”

That message had been sent by my sweet young friend, Anna; but there was no doubt in my mind, because of the impeccable timing, that it had really been sent by my loving Father. Wanting me to know I was His beloved, He had sent me a text about His birds — while I was in the midst of being entertained by His birds!  I willingly and eagerly nestled in His lap and let Him fill my “daddy vacuum” with warm rays of soothing sunshine.

Yes, I know He is the King of kings and Lord of lords, the Creator of heaven and earth … but He is also my Daddy …my Abba Father. Psalm 27:10 flooded my thoughts: “When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up.”  He did.  And He also says in Joel 2:25-26 that He will “restore the years the swarming locusts have eaten.”  He has.

What a mighty God I serve! Thank you, precious Lord, for touching the soul of “nobody-special-me” in this glorious way. I gladly receive all You have for me … up to and including a text message from Your own celestial hand!

One thought on “Birds of the Air

Leave a Reply

