Make Your Mess Your Message

Paint

Messy!  That’s my life! At least it was this morning! I had some fun things planned, but that’s not how it all came down!  Instead, everything I DREAD doing is what I ended up doing! I even had to do ONE of those detestable duties TWICE — Heaven forbid!

I felt out-of-control as the tyrannical tasks pelted me like a pitching machine cranked at breakneck speed … ruining my best laid plans!

I had a horrible attitude … and I KNEW my attitude was dishonoring to the Lord. In one breath I asked forgiveness; in another breath I cursed my plight, only to turn around and confess again! Back and forth, back and forth, back and forth I went!

Why, oh why, was I being barraged with the things I loathed the most, all in the same morning?

“God, You KNOW how I feel about _____, _____, and _______; and You are fully capable of stopping all this right now. One of these is bad enough all by itself! Why are you allowing them ALL to hit me, one right after the other???” cried my pathetic pleasure-seeking self.

Then the Lord answered my question. (Don’t you just love it when He does that???) He reminded me of my pastor’s message the prior Sunday on John 15 — the Vine, the branches, the pruning.

It’s one thing to hear a message on pruning when you’re nice and comfortable, sitting in a church pew on a Sunday morning, nodding in agreement with every jot and tittle of God’s Word.

It’s quite another thing to experience the pain of pruning on a Tuesday morning, far removed from the physical sanctuary!

The Holy Spirit swept down, gently but firmly convicted me, pulled me up out of the mire of self-pity, and renewed a right spirit within me. (He’s like that, you know!)

I surrendered … and fell into the forgiving arms of Jesus.

Wouldn’t it be grand if life went along in a flowing-legato kind of way?

But it doesn’t … because this is planet earth … and we are works in progress … and God’s not finished with us … and pruning is a necessary part of bringing out the best in us: vibrant, life-giving fruit!

Kicking against the goads of the Celestial Vinedresser (like I did this morning) is not a wise thing to do.

How much better it is to relinquish the “right” to a smooth, trouble-free life and give in to the snip-snip-snip of those Heavenly Shears!

But wait! Let’s not just “give in”! Let’s welcome the cutting away of that superfluous material of our innermost being!

Bring on the bright, juicy, life-giving fruit!

Bring on a better you …

a better me!

To be squeezed out over everyone who crosses our paths …

all for the glory of God!

Psalm 40:1-3

I waited patiently for the Lord;
And He inclined to me,
And heard my cry.
2 He also brought me up out of a horrible pit,
Out of the miry clay,
And set my feet upon a rock,
And established my steps.
3 He has put a new song in my mouth—
Praise to our God;
Many will see it and fear,
And will trust in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

