Out of the Parking Lot; Onto the Track

race trackSo it seemed the Lord woke me up very early this morning and drew me into my sanctuary (a spare bedroom) where I meet with Him.  I turned on the little lamp and sat down on the cushioned rocker.

“Okay, Lord.  I’m here.  What do you want do to with me?”  No answer, so I decided to work on my memory verse:

“For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, “Fear not; I will help you.”  Isaiah 41:13

Then I picked up _My Utmost for His Highest_ and read today’s devotion by Oswald Chambers:  “…The Lord is my helper, I will not fear…”

“Hmmm.  God seems to be talking to me about fear this morning.  Okaaay???”

I picked up a book on the stand (Restless Because You Were Made for More) and read words that I could have penned myself because they perfectly articulated my present state of mind.

The author was talking about two different kinds of go-cart tracks where she had taken her children — one was a rinky-dink parking lot with cars that bumped into each other and didn’t really go anywhere, and the other was a fast track where the go-carts sped around at breakneck speed, occasionally bumping into one another.

She asked, “What if you have God-given gifts and He wants to turn you loose with them?  What if you were built for a track and you are camped out in a parking lot?”  She asked her readers if they could be driving around a parking lot, afraid to pull out onto the real track.

She asked why.  Do they fear they wouldn’t actually have anything to contribute?  That they might go too fast and lose control?  That they might lose the race, or maybe even wreck?  Or that people might judge them?

This writer/teacher/speaker can identify and is frequently haunted by phrases like:

“But … be sure you don’t misrepresent the Lord using Scripture.” (Greatest fear and, no doubt, a healthy fear.)

“But … be sure to put your relationships first.” (Daunting thought because I have so many relationships!)

“But … be sure to be winsome in your approach or they will be indifferent and unresponsive.”  (Forgive me, Lord, for depending on my delivery and not Your Holy Spirit.)

“But … be sure you don’t promote yourself.” (Stifling thought!)

Passionate person that I am, words like “But … be sure…” are paralyzing, and they strike fear in my heart. There’s that word again!

Ahhh!  It’s starting to come together, Lord!  It’s about me living out the story You have written — to serve You and Your people with the gifts you have planted in me. 

No “What ifs.”  No “But … be sures.” 

No fear!  Just complete abandonment to Him!

I “hear” Him telling me this morning to pull out of the parking lot and onto the track that He has set before me!  To sink myself into Him … to serve Him and His people without fear, trusting that He will keep me true to His Word, that my motives will be kept in check, and, above all, that HE will be glorified!

Could this be true for you, too?  The track is there.  Let’s pull out of the parking lot and move to where the action is … shall we?

And let’s see what God will do!

The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?  Psalm 27:1

Leave a Reply

