Be Still

Screen Shot 2019-04-07 at 7.55.13 AM

There is strength in sitting still.  That’s what it says in Isaiah 30:7.

It is a stillness borne of trust.

Not quiet tension, for quiet tension is not trust; it is compressed anxiety.

It all boils down to what Jesus said in John 16:33.

In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

Do we believe that or not?

Okay, let’s stop with the “we”!

Do *I* believe that or not?  Yes!  Let’s personalize this!

On occasion, I am prone to fly to pieces with inward turmoil …

when suddenly that familiar and gentle still, small voice whispers in the deepest part of my soul …

Be still and know that I am God.

And so I compose myself into perfect stillness and constrain my troubled spirit into quietness.

And, strangely, out of this stillness seems to arise a power to deal with the disorder.

And I am at peace.

Leave a comment